# Trust 30…day 6…getting out of the perpetual spiral of something better


Life wastes itself while we are preparing to live. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

If you had one week left to live, would you still be doing what you’re doing now? In what areas of your life are you preparing to live? Take them off your To Do list and add them to a To Stop list. Resolve to only do what makes you come alive.

Bonus: How can your goals improve the present and not keep you in a perpetual “always something better” spiral?

(Author: Jonathan Mead)

If I had only one week to live, I would be doing my accounts, writing my will, settling things with my family, and would perhaps be in a total funk. I would have to choose between completing my novel’s rewrite and travelling to Egypt, and most probably I would travel. Since this is so hypothetical, I really don’t know, but definitely a few things have come up while I think about this and some of these are:

 

It is indeed a beautiful world.

 

 

So

crib less and appreciate more ( not try too hard but not be a meanie either)

work more ( already playing catch-up here) but reassess what I really want to do and do that

exercise and take care of my health so that such an ultimatum does not arise.

realise that ignorance can be bliss, for I do not know what tomorrow will bring

enjoy the moment lived in ignorance of tomorrow

appreciate my heartbeat and the fact that I can snooze when I want ( though I don’t)

get on with my writing while I can…while supervising the laying of tiles on my drawing room floor…while learning how to make pancakes …while reading a play by an Indian playwright in London…while…life beckons!

Happy to have the week and perhaps more?

🙂

 

This entry was posted in The Emerson 30 day Trust Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

