# Trust 30…day 7…’be bold’


Dare to be bold by Matt Cheuvront

Our arts, our occupations, our marriages, our religion, we have not chosen, but society has chosen for us. We are parlour soldiers. We shun the rugged battle of fate, where strength is born. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Next to Resistance, rational thought is the artist or entrepreneurs worst enemy. Bad things happen when we employ rational thought, because rational thought comes from the ego. Instead, we want to work from the Self, that is, from instinct and intuition, from the unconscious.

A child has no trouble believing the unbelievable, nor does the genius or the madman. Its only you and I, with our big brains and our tiny hearts, who doubt and overthink and hesitate.” – Steven Pressfield, Do the Work

The idea of “being realistic” holds all of us back. From starting a business or quitting a job to dating someone who may not be our type or moving to a new place – getting “real” often means putting your dreams on hold.

Today, let’s take a step away from rational thought and dare to be bold. What’s one thing you’ve always wanted to accomplish but have been afraid to pursue? Write it down. Also write down the obstacles in your way of reaching your goal. Finally, write down a tangible plan to overcome each obstacle.

The only thing left is to, you know, actually go make it happen. What are you waiting for?

(Author: Matt Cheuvront)

‘Doubt, over- hesitate, think ‘… and destroy. The circular saw of reason that cuts throught action, that is the one great inhibitor. For me , panic attacks set in at the idea of submitting anything to a publisher where I have to wait for a yes from him/her. So I never get the great MS ready for this. I have some half -baked , almost-there novels that I have not completed, and one that I am currently rewriting that I DO want to send out, and have every intention of doing so, but it is taking its time. So I think that could be the fear, the fear of success, of achievement. I have to fight it all the time and move forward. I do do it, but the big fight is always happening inside of me, is this worth it? Is this good enough? And I have to keep telling myself that I just have to ‘do the do’ and not think. For thinking about faliure or success does not help, and how do you quantify this, really? And once a certain milestone is reached, I am always looking for more , so I should reach milestones that really matter to me, such as getting a novel published.

That would be my boldness, submission of my manuscript. Doing what is required to make this happen.

Ther are of course other bold things in my dictionary, such as restarting my yoga, and I will take that first step today. I have to stay on course and fight the demons of inertia and distractions. I have to keep fighting my mind (what’s the big deal in pushing yourself? What’s the big deal in doing what you do?) in order to be bold. I am bold, but not bold enough yet. I need to be bolder, the chains of  negative thought have to be broken so that I may shake a leg, sing a song. I need to step into unexplored areas that beckon and reach for the light.

 

 

These things are easy to write about, but tough to ‘do’. I need to ‘do the do’. Move.

 

 

This entry was posted in The Emerson 30 day Trust Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to # Trust 30…day 7…’be bold’

  1. Tiffany says:

    Hey,
    I listened to a guy called Adya, and he said if you keep fighting your mind, you will never win. And it started a revolution inside of my head. It could really help where you’re at.
    It goes from thinking about doing stuff to actually doing it.. and the weird thing is, maybe you start doing things you never thought about. And that’s the scary journey!
    Good luck man!

  2. Tiffany says:

    This is a link to his basic teachings on Youtube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qgtOL9kl7fc He comes from the Zen tradition. Hope you find it helpful.

  3. abha says:

    thanks, tiffany, much obliged.

Leave a Reply

