# Trust 30…day 9…Afraid To Do


The other terror that scares us from self-trust is our consistency; a reverence for our past act or word, because the eyes of others have no other data for computing our orbit than our past acts, and we are loath to disappoint them. – Ralph Waldo Emerson
Emerson says: “Always do what you are afraid to do.” What is ‘too scary’ to write about? Try doing it now.
I think the lesson lies in that very statement, do what you are afraid to do. I have learnt to take the bull by the horns many times and felt happier for it, afterwards. I put up so many resistances before I convince myself to do something, despite wanting to very much. It is a fear of not being able to deliver, not being up to the mark, failing somewhere, making a fool of myself, being too old.
Speaking in public was one thing I used to be so scared of, till I decided, I will do it, it does not matter if I cry, get emotional, make a fool of myself. Now, I am quite okay with speaking in front of people and addressing crowds. No, I enjoy it now, I get a high from it. It is not that I do not get nervous, but I don’t stutter and stammer and get lost for words. It is just practice and experience and overcoming the fear. No one is perfect, but it is tough to do things which are not easy for you.
Whenever I have ventured , things have fallen into place and the resistance has run away. It has not always been well worth it, but most times, it has been good. So, yes, I have to constantly do that which I am afraid of doing. There are many such things, this is a constant striving. To do, that which I am afraid of doing.
This entry was posted in The Emerson 30 day Trust Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

