Trust 30…Day 14… Alternate Paths


The Prompt:

When good is near you, when you have life in yourself, it is not by any known or accustomed way; you shall not discern the foot-prints of any other; you shall not see the face of man; you shall not hear any name; the way, the thought, the good, shall be wholly strange and new. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

The world buzzes about goals and visions. Focus. Create a vivid picture of exactly where you want to go. Dream big, then don’t let anything or anyone stop you. The problem, as Daniel Gilbert wrote in Stumbling Upon Happiness, is that we’re horrible at forecasting how we’ll really feel 10 or 20 years from now – once we’ve gotten what we dreamed of. Often, we get there only to say, “That’s not what I thought it would be,” and ask, “What now?” Ambition is good. Blind ambition is not. It blocks out not only distraction, but the many opportunities that might take you off course but that may also lead you in a new direction. Consistent daily action is only a virtue when bundled with a willingness to remain open to the unknown. In this exercise, look at your current quest and ask, “What alternative opportunities, interpretations and paths am I not seeing?” They’re always there, but you’ve got to choose to see them.

(Author: Jonathan Fields)

 

Being a jill of all trades, the bigggest trade I opted to focus on finally was writing. And that is hardly a trade, but still a focus in life. At the moment, I am focusing on re-doing my novel. Ad I am always stumbling upon other things which are good, but they distract. So I am open to the alternatives all the time , but they take me away from the novel I am focused on. Quite easily done , as any jill who has many interests will tell you. To see the good alternatives. To go towards the beckoning alternatives. And find that they also work , and to find that you have always been without focus, so you need to focus, more than ever before. The distractions will always be a part of  your good alternatives, and you will follow them , nose to the ground, knowing you are being led away from focus. And then you will return to focus. And be led away. These particular types, like me, get swept off their feet by the trade winds. They need to hold on to the ground stronger, they need the focus.

This entry was posted in The Emerson 30 day Trust Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trust 30…Day 14… Alternate Paths

  1. Abha, so true. And another way to see it is might be that the “enriched nuggets” that your wandering focus is leading you towards will come back to take your novel in delightful and unexpected directions (even if it but inspires the change of a word or two…) I often intone to myself, “Show me that which is apparent to so many but not currently to me. I am now willing to see.” Boy, have I been surprised by what was right in front of me when my unknowing blinders came off! Just wanted to share some thoughts and feelings on your wonderful words today.
    Rich

Leave a Reply

