# Trust 30…day 20…Speak Less


 

What I must do is all that concerns me, not what the people think. This rule, equally arduous in actual and in intellectual life, may serve for the whole distinction between greatness and meanness. It is the harder, because you will always find those who think they know what is your duty better than you know I.– Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

I once received a fortune cookie that read: “Speak less of your plans, you’ll get more done.” What’s one project that you’ve been sitting on and thinking about but haven’t made progress on? What’s stopping you? What would happen if you actually went for it and did it?

(Author: Laura Kimball)

 

I never seem to have enough time for it. I think I need to work on it regardless and make the time, to give it the top priority that I have not been giving it. I have to stop getting distracted and find the time and space to get this done. Regardless. Of. Anything . Else.

This entry was posted in The Emerson 30 day Trust Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to # Trust 30…day 20…Speak Less

  1. michilantz says:

    Hi Abha, yes I also have that problem; I am easily distracted. But I have found that if I devote 1 hour a day, only 1 hour or even only 30 minutes I at least can allow myself to be in the energy of that.

    Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  2. Gary Lougher says:

    The hardest part for me is getting started. Sometimes I just sit there and stare! So I just start writing and it comes. One reason for doing this challenge was to get more practice in articulating thoughts in shorter amounts of time. In the past, it may have taken me literally all day to write one post. Because I’m a bit of a perfectionist. Now I’m cranking thse things out in a half hour or less. The less thought I put into them, the more authentic I become. The less thought, the less the ego is speaking!

  3. Powerful sharing, Abha, especially to your “self.” Can I offer you one note that I found useful in shaking off old habits?

    Be observant and aware of whatever you put after thinking or writing “I.”

    “I never…” is not an observation; it is an unconscious command.( I was told to be especially aware after using the words, “I am…”)

    “In regards to this, right now, I can choose again…”

    Use this as you may (or not!) It’s all up to you. 😉

    Namaste.
    Rich

Leave a Reply

