# Trust 30…Day 23…The Courage to Connect…Square to Circle


 

Men imagine that they communicate their virtue or vice only by overt actions, and do not see that virtue or vice emit a breath every moment. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

 


Who is one person that you’ve been dying to connect with, but just haven’t had the courage to reach out to? First, reflect on why you want to get in touch with them. Then, reach out and set up a meeting.

 

(Author: David Spinks)


There was a time when I was comfortable in a square. It had family, family, family and family filling the 4 straight- lined corners. I was so content and contained, I knew no different and did not want to know it at all. It was adequate that wherever I looked, I was there for the family and my family for me.

I was inhibited, arrogant about my degree of contentment, unwilling to step out and talk to others or make friends.I sat sqaurely in my world, not realizing how much of a squatter I had become, how misplaced my arrogance and contentment was, how I did not seek growth or evolution. I had these huge blinkers on, and I did not recognize how much of life I was letting go.

Then somewhere along the line, I opened a window and began to flutter these butterfly wings. The cocoon had stopped being adequate.

This is how the square began to turn into a circle. One circle, many circles, overlapping circles, concentric circles, and I kept turning on my toes, and then my feet and then with all my being, the world whirled around me and I saw so many different aspects of it, the good the bad, the ugly and the beautiful, the very beautiful.I began to participate in the life beyond the square, I developed a circle of friends, I developed online and offline friends’ networlds.

I also began to change. A butterfly who flew was born. A spider who wove tales was born. A humingbird who sucked from the flower of life was born. A bee that shared the honey of learning was born.

The geometry of life changed. I had the courage to connect with like minded souls, souls who supported me and cheered me. Beyond the square  support of the family I have found the circular support of the world. I looked beyond a small world and connected with a bigger one.

Naturally inhibited by nature, I stop myself from thinking too much and move forward to connect. That is the only way, and how remarkable it is indeed.

This entry was posted in The Emerson 30 day Trust Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to # Trust 30…Day 23…The Courage to Connect…Square to Circle

  1. Nico says:

    This is WONDERFUL! I love your ‘geometry of life changed’. VERY ORIGINAL! Thank you for sharing!

    Peace, Nico

  2. Abha Iyengar says:

    Thank you, Nico, for reading and commenting. Grateful.

  3. Maya says:

    This is deeply moving, Abha! Your words filled my eyes with tears of understanding, acknowledgment and appreciation. Thank you so much for writing this AND sharing it.
    Such a GIFT!
    Maya

  4. Abha, your words filled me with a sense of a “sacred geometry” that is branching out of your life experience. If I was an artist, I would be inspired to attempt a work of art based on your magnificent sharing. Thank you so much.

    Namaste.
    Rich

  5. Rich Proctor says:

    Hi Abha, I’m so glad you decided to break out of the limiting square and embrace the limitless possibility of the ever expanding circle. Isn’t it amazing out here beyond the walls of that square?

    Thanks
    Rich

Leave a Reply

