#Trust 30 …Day 26… Call to Arms..guess what? I am a lone ship


The secret of fortune is joy in our hands. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

What if today, right now, no jokes at all, you were actually in charge, the boss, the Head Honcho. Write the “call to arms” note you’re sending to everyone (staff, customers, suppliers, Board) charting the path ahead for the next 12 months and the next 5 years. Now take this manifesto, print it out somewhere you can see, preferably in big letters you can read from your chair.

You’re just written your own job description. You know what you have to do. Go!

(bonus: send it to the CEO with the title “The things we absolutely have to get right – nothing else matters.”)

This was a really tough thing to do, thinking of myself as the Head Honcho and laying down a blueprint of a company or a call to arms to others under my commnad. I do not want to steer a boat loaded with people who want to be steered by me. I want to be on my own, doing my own thing, irresponsibly. I have been Head Honcho of my family for as long as I remember and it was finally good in the last few years to say, now I do things for myself. This did not mean I would take on the reins of a company, even my own. Running a home is like being in charge of a company, a industry,  and I just don’t want it anymore. I want to lead a free and unfettered life, not be responsible for anything but my own life, I do not want to be dependent nor have dependents. Of course, I am always there for my family and friends should they need me, but I am more of a loner. I like my time and space to myself, which being the Head Honcho of any company cannot give me.

But yes, if I were to lay down a blueprint of where I would like to be a year from now, or 5 years from now, that makes sense to me and that is what I will work on, to give me the goal and the direction, so I know which part of the waters I will be in, steering my boat, on the way to the island of achievement, after a year and after 5 years. Remembering the idiom that woman proposes and god disposes, I will factor in that fact as well, and keep in mind that the seas may be choppy and the sailing not too steady. But courage and preserverence will lead me to the golden island, I hope, without toppling me over, midway. J I know what I want, and now will set up goal posts to move steadily in that direction. But Head Honcho? No, give me my space on the open seas, where I am guided by the wind in my sails and the pole star of intent.

 

This entry was posted in The Emerson 30 day Trust Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #Trust 30 …Day 26… Call to Arms..guess what? I am a lone ship

  1. Abha: Wow! That is a strong “cry for freedom” from within. Do your best to grant it to yourself and make peace with the resistance you may meet on the path. You have chosen to be the “lone wolf” and that has it’s own joys and challenges. My only desire for you is that you remain conscious of what is happening within.
    Namaste.
    Rich

Leave a Reply

