# Trust 30…Day 28…Alive-est with nature


Nothing is at last sacred but the integrity of your own mind. If we follow the truth, it will bring us out safe at last. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

When did you feel most alive recently? Where were you? What did you smell? What sights and sounds did you experience? Capture that moment on paper and recall that feeling. Then, when it’s time to create something, read your own words to reclaim a sense of being to motivate you to complete a task at hand.

(Author: Sam Davidson)

 

I have not been feeling so alive for some time now. For I have not been with nature for that some time.

 

I am at my most alive when I am with nature, near the sea, in the mountains. I love the smell of fresh air and the smell of mud after rain (but in Delhi, it is just squishy slippery pavements of muck and …no smell of rain drenched earth). I love hot sand under my feet. I love the tiny purple and white flowers that peek in the grass on the hills. So got to get out of Delhi for those trysts with nature. Something vibrates and comes alive within me when I do so.

 

The next best, for an urban inhabitant of a city with unhealthy fumes, skyscrapers and streets clogged with  traffic, is music. Old Hindi melodies that are sad and make me cry, they move me and make me feel alive (strange). The other extreme is listening to J Lo, Beyonce, Shakira, Enrique, all the shake- a- leg kind of numbers, even the recent Hindi ones, which talk about Sheela ki jawani (the youth of Sheela!), and have a cool beat to dance to. They can make me feel alive with joy and life, such music pumps the blood and brings me to a happy state.

Poetry moves me and gives me life, reading a good story does.

Teaching does.

 

So in the absence of nature, for it is really the one primary thing which brings me alive, I have many other things to fall back upon. Good to be alive, actually, experiencing love and smiles, having a laugh and giggling over stupid jokes.

 

Yes, I can feel alive in many ways, but it is when I am with nature that I am filled with life.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in The Emerson 30 day Trust Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

